Welcome to Way 2 Universities Education
Untitled Document

Mangalore University (MU) is a public university located in Konaje(18-KiloMeters away from main city Mangalore), Karnataka State of India . Ranked with a four star by the National Assessment and Accreditation Council (NAAC) in June 2000, this young university offers higher education and conducts research in various fields. The university has jurisdiction over revenue districts of Dakshina Kannada,Udupi and Kodagu of Karnataka state in India.The university imparts higher education in field of arts,commerce,science,law and management.

The Mangalore University campus is called Mangalagangothri and is spread over an area of about 350 acres, It is located Konaje, on a hilltop overlooking the Arabian Sea to the west and the Western Ghats to the east.

As of Jan 2008, the University has 25 Post-Graduate Departments on the Campus, two constituent colleges, 4 law, 13 education, 5 autonomous and 119 affiliated colleges/institutions.

First University in the country to start Bachelor's degree programmes in Hotel Management, Fashion Design, Garment Design, Leather Design and Human Resource Development and Post- Graduate programmes in Computer Software and Yogic Sciences.


The previous undivided Dakshina Kannada (south canara) district was under jurisdiction of University of Mysore. In the early 1970's there was a growing demand for a local university. A post graduation centre of Mysore university was set up in late 1970's at Mangaluru. To satisfy the demand for separate university Mangalore University was set up in September 10, 1980. The engineering and medicine disciplines were later transferred to Visvesvaraya Technological University and Rajiv Gandhi University of Health Sciences of Karnataka respectively.

  List of Vice Chancellors
No From To Name Position previously held
1 1980 19__ Dr. B. Sheik Ali Professor of History, University of Mysore
MA(History), PhD

2 19__ 19__ Prof K M Shafiulla
3 1993 1994 Prof. Abdul Jaleelkhan M. Pathan Registrar of Bangalore University
MSc(Applied Geology), PhD

4 28 Oct 1994 27 Oct 1997 Prof. M.I.Savadatti Prof of Physics in Karnatak University, Dharwad
Msc(Physics), PhD

5 28 Oct 1997 27 Oct 2001 Prof. S. Gopal Prof of Physics, University of Mysore
Msc(Physics), PhD

6 28 Oct 2001 27 Oct 2005 Prof. B. Hanumaiah Physics Department, Karnatak university, Dharwad
Msc(Physics), PhD

7 28th Oct 2005 11th Jan 2006 Prof. Thimme Gowda (Acting VC) Professor of Physical Chemistry, Head of the Department of Chemistry
MSc(Physical Chemistry),PhD.

8 Jan 12 2006 * Prof. M. Kaveriappa Professor of Biosciences and Applied Botany, Chair of Department of Applied Botany Mangalore University
MSc(Botany), PhD

External Link
Official Web site of Mangalore University

  << Back