Welcome to Way 2 Universities Education
Untitled Document

The National Institute of Mental Health and Neurosciences (NIMHANS) is located in Bangalore, and is one of Asia's most reputable hospitals. The National Institute of Mental Health and Neurosciences (NIMHANS), a multidisciplinary institute in the field of mental health and neurosciences, was the result of the amalgamation of the erstwhile mental hospital and the All India Institute of Mental Health on 27 December 1974. The Institute was Inaugurated by Dr. Karan Singh, the union minister for Health and Family Planning, establishing this autonomous body under the Societies Registration Act into a leading area of medical service and research in the country. The lunatic asylum which came into being in the later part of the 19th century established by the Government of India, was renamed as the Mental Hospital in 1925 by the Government of Mysore. In 1954, the All India Institute of Mental Health 1974 became an autonomous Institute called NIMHANS. The multidisciplinary integrated approach is the mainstay of this institute. On 14 November 1994, NIMHANS was declared a Deemed University under Section 3 of the University Grants Commission Act, 1956 (3 of 1956).

The institute is recognized as the premier institute in the field of psychiatry not only in India but across the globe. Advanced programs in the area of services, training and research have been developed in the area of biological,behavioral and basic sciences in the relation to the brain-mind-behavior-axis.

The activities and achievements of the institute have caught the attention of planners as well as the general public.

The combined involvement of the Government of India and Government of Karnataka with the institute has given it administrative and academic freedom of the highest quality for growth and development.


Organization and administration
The functioning of the Institute is under the direction of the NIMHANS society with the Union Minister for Health & Family Welfare as President, and the Minister for Health & Family Welfare, Government of Karnataka as Vice-President. The Principal organ of management is the Board of Management. The other statutory bodies are Finance Committee, Academic Committee, Ethics Committee, Building and Works Committee and Rehabilitation Committee.

The Institute is funded both by the Union and the Government of Karnataka. Several national and international agencies like ICMR (Indian Council of Medical Research), DST (Department of Science and Technology (India)), UGC, CSIR, WHO, UNICEF are other resources, in addition to several generous donors.


Notable Faculty
Some of the distinguished doctors from NIMHANS:

Dr R M Varma
Dr Narayana Reddy
Dr S M Channabasavanna
Dr M Gowrie-Devi
Dr A S Hegde
Dr Thimappa Hegde
Dr Mani K S
Dr Arun Naik
Prof Mohan K Isaac
Dr Satish Chandra Girimaji
Dr. Shekhar Seshadri
Prof R Raguram
Prof Sanjeev Jain
Prof R S Pandey
Prof B N Gangadhar


External links
NIMHANS (Official Website)

  << Back