Welcome to Way 2 Universities Education
Untitled Document

The Sri Sathya Sai University (formerly Sri Sathya Sai Institute of Higher Learning) is the university founded by Sathya Sai Baba, under Section 3 of the University Grants Commission Act of 1956. Sri Sathya Sai Baba is also the chancellor of the institute. There are three campuses, all in India: in the ashram Prashanthi Nilayam for men, in Whitefield for men, and in Anantapur town for women.

It is based on the gurukula system of ancient India wherein education is provided totally free from Kindergarten to Post Graduation. All the students from the first grade to the postgraduate stay in the hostel. The institute focuses on imparting value-oriented education to its students. The Sri Sathya Sai University in Prashanti Nilayam is the only one of the two colleges in India to have received an "A++" rating by the National Assessment and Accreditation Council (an autonomous body established by the University Grants Commission).



The Sri Sathya Sai University was founded on November 22, 1981, by Sathya Sai Baba. An autonomous body, it has been recognized by the Ministry of Education, Government of India, and the University Grants Commission (UGC), as a Deemed University vide their notification no.F9-11/81-U.3 dt.10.11.1981. The Institute has been admitted as a regular member of the Association of Indian Universities vide their letter no. Meet/Reg.Memb/86/97596 dt.20.4.1986.

The Institute which grew out of the Colleges founded earlier by the Baba at Anantapur (Andhra Pradesh), Whitefield (near Bangalore, Karnataka) and Prasanthi Nilayam (Andhra Pradesh), aims at imparting integral education, development of character being considered the primary objective of education.



22 July 1968 - Inauguration of Anantapur Campus

9 June 1969 - Inauguration of Sri Sathya Sai Arts and Science College for men at Brindavan.

28 November 1978 - Baba laid the foundation-stone of the College of Arts, Science and Commerce at Prasanthi Nilayam

22 November 1981 - Inauguration of Deemed University

20 November 2000 - Inauguration of Sri Sathya Sai Mirpuri College of Music


Salient features

The Institute has several distinctive features. The more important among them are:

Free Education: The Institute does not charge any type of fees - tuition fees, laboratory fees, library fees, examination fees and the like.

An open admission policy enabling students from all over the country to seek admission to various courses, irrespective of income, class, creed, religion or region, making it truly national in character.

Merit based selection through a very comprehensive testing and interviewing procedure giving adequate weight to intellectual attainments and intuitive insight.

A very favourable teacher-pupil ratio for closer rapport between students and faculty.

Residential character of the Institute with students and faculty staying on the Campuses.

Development of Scientific Research at the doctoral level relevant to the local and national needs; introduction of educational technology through the installation of a modern space theatre in rural surroundings providing an opportunity for the students and the faculty to develop various kinds of simulation exercises and also formulate programmes of a creative and constructive character.

Blending of value-based education with secular education.

Integrated courses of five years duration in order to promote talent.

Maximum number of working days, fuller utilisation of national holidays and important festivals for educational purposes and extension work.

The success of the Institute in upholding these high ideals may be judged from the fact that everything operates with clockwork precision. In particular, there is never any student unrest. Examinations are always held on schedule as announced, and the Annual Convocation of the Institute invariably takes place on November 22. Sai students are scattered throughout the globe, and wherever they are, they remain committed to the values they had imbibed while studying.



School of Business Management, Accounting and Finance

Department of Mathematics and Computer Science

Department of Physics

Department of Chemistry

Department of Bio-Sciences

Department of Home Science

Department of Commerce

Department of Education

Department of Economics

Department of English Language & Literature

Department of Telugu Language & Literature

Department of Philosophy

Department of Political Science

Department of History and Indian culture


External links

Sri Sathya Sai University Homepage

  << Back