Welcome to Way 2 Universities Education
Untitled Document
Visvesvaraya Technological University, also spelt Visveswaraiah Technological University, (VTU), is a University in Karnataka, India.

It is unitary university as it offers courses in engineering, technology and management.The engineering colleges in Karnataka are affiliated to this university except autonomous colleges. At present, 141 engineering colleges all over Karnataka are affiliated to VTU. The intake every year for engineering under this university inclusive of post-graduate courses is around 38,000. The university has 25 branches of Bachelor of Engineering and 54 branches of Masters in Technology courses. B. E. (Bio-Technology) was an under-graduate branch introduced in 2002-03 in 21 colleges. In addition, the university offers MBA and MCA courses. The university also offers M. Sc. (Engg.) through Research and Ph.D. programmes. Currently, the University has 249 registered candidates for M.Sc. (Engg.) by Research and Ph.D. in 80 Research Centres in 24 affiliated colleges.

Dr Balveer Reddy was first vice chancellor of this university.

The University has achieved the tremendous task of bringing various colleges affiliated earlier to different universities, with different syllabi, different procedures and different traditions under one umbrella.

The university is also known for its record number of placement activities. Every year thousands of students are recruited by various companies through campus placement programs.

The first batch consisting of approximately 13,000 students of undergraduate (engineering and technology fields) students admitted in the academic year 1998-99 graduated from the portals of this University during the month of July 2002. Four batches of M. Tech., 3 batches of MBA and 2 batches of MCA students have so far graduated from the university. The total number of post-graduates who have completed their studies in this university is around 5000.

Previously, the name of the university was spelt differently. The first batch which graduated in 2002 has the name "Visveswaraiah Technological University" on the marksheets and graduation certificates.

B.M. Sreenivasaiah College of Engineering, Bangalore
M.V. Jayaraman College of Engineering, Bangalore
National Institute of Engineering, Mysore
Sri Jayachamarajendra College of Engineering, Mysore
Anjuman Engineering College, Bhatkal

External links
The VTU official website

  << Back